Home / Institutes / Deakin University

Deakin University

Established in 1974, Deakin University was Victoria’s fourth university and the first in regional Victoria. Deakin University’s first campus was established at Waurn Ponds. The University was the result of a merger between State College of Victoria, Geelong (formerly Geelong Teachers College) and the Gordon Institute of Technology (now the Gordon Institute of TAFE). Deakin enrolled its first students at the Geelong Waurn Ponds Campus in 1977. Deakin today has over 42,000 students and is Australia’s ninth-largest university.

Deakin was awarded a 5-star rating by the prestigious university ranking organisation Quacquarelli Symonds (QS); the rating indicates Deakin is world-class in a broad range of areas, has cutting-edge facilities and is internationally renowned for its research and teaching. The 2015 Shanghai Jiao Tong Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) placed Deakin University among the top 400 universities in the world. Deakin is in the top 50 of the QS ranking of the world’s universities under 50 years and ranks 45 in the 2015 Times Higher Education ranking of the top100 universities under 50 years.

Established: 1974

Courses Offered:

  • Bachelor of Biological Science
  • Bachelor of Medical Biotechnology
  • Bachelor of Molecular Life Sciences
  • Master of Biotechnology
  • Master in Frontier Materials and Nanotechnology
  • Master of Applied Science(Research)

Tuition Fee:

You can to visit the university website to search for tuition fees of student programs and courses.

College Facilities:

  • Accommodation
  • Sport & recreation
  • Library
  • Laboratories
  • Medical Centre
  • Carpooling
  • Student Resi Meals & Dining

Contact Details:
Address: 221 Burwood Highway, Burwood, Victoria 3125 Australia
Tel: +61 3 9627 4877
Fax: NA
Email: study@deakin.edu.au
Website: http://www.deakin.edu.au/

More Institutes | List Your Institute | Admissions

Check Also


La Trobe University – Australia

La Trobe University is an Australian public university is located in Melbourne, Victoria having the largest metropolitan campus in the country.